This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which is better?

• Stick with the program

Votes: 8 44.4%
  • Apply to other schools

Votes: 10 55.6%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

premedstuddeentt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a freshman in college, accepted into a 4+4 DO medical program, that doesn't require the MCAT. I was ecstatic at first but after doing a little bit more research, I noticed the affiliated medical school is ranked significantly low and I'm also not sure if Id want to do DO over MD.

Is it a better option to play it safe and stick with the program, or should I apply to other medical schools after a few years? (the medical school for this program also said if we apply to any other schools, then our guaranteed acceptance is revoked)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
huh

Reactions: 1 users
I am currently a freshman in college, accepting into a 4+4 DO medical program, that doesn't require the MCAT. I was ecstatic at first but after doing a little bit more research, I noticed the affiliated medical school is ranked significantly low and I'm also not sure if Id want to do DO over MD.

Is it a better option to play it safe and stick with the program, or should I apply to other medical schools after a few years? (the medical school for this program also said if we apply to any other schools, then our guaranteed acceptance is revoked)

You are a freshman, so you don't have to decide yet. I don't know of any program that says you absolutely MUST do med school at their place if you do the first 4yrs. Give it time and see how you do academically, etc. Nothing wrong with a DO, but depending on your goals in a few years and stats an MD or DO might serve you one better than the other for certain things.