Which is more recognized: Dr.PH or PhD in Public health?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sbdreamer1982

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone have any thoughts regarding the Dr.PH programs out there? I know the difference, the former is more practical in preparing its students for roles in government, policy making and leadership within organizations. The latter, the PhD prepares students for research and academic careers.

However, which is recognized better - has better job prospects, the PhD in Public health or the Dr.PH. I'm not quite sure whether it matters all that much once in the 'real' world.

I have my RN , MSc and now applying for PhD's in Public health - although I might do a 1 yr MPH just for extra credibility.

Members don't see this ad.

I was under the impression that the Dr PH was a degree for working professionals and more of a professional degree. Many I looked at did not have much of a research component. All PhD's I looked at were obviously very big into reserach. At Harvard though, the DRPH is for people who already have a doctoral degree which I took to mean MD's or DO's, working clinical professionals. At least that is my understanding. If anyone has any info that would be great.

Yeah, there seems to be a bit of variety between the programs.

The one I'm looking at is quite research focused, its first year is equivalent to an MPH - epidemiological courses, stats, research courses. The program has three internships - one in a research setting, the second in a policy making setting and the third in a health practice setting. It takes three years to complete and entails a thesis of original research due in the final year.

I'm confused though. Obviously I want to come out of a program with a wealth of hands on experience, not just theory, but I want my degree to be recognized also.

Members don't see this ad :)
PhD is an academic degree.