Which ROTC program...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

etsybetsy07

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a college student and decided to change my career to nursing. I am debating between joining Army, Navy or Air Force ROTC for nursing.... any recommendations? Or which one is the best deal?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

deleted
I am currently a college student and decided to change my career to nursing. I am debating between joining Army, Navy or Air Force ROTC for nursing.... any recommendations? Or which one is the best deal?

Thanks!

Last edited:

Thanks!

First off, I'll ask you a question. Are you considering doing ROTC because you have an actual desire to be in the military? You REALLY need to answer that question first before proceeding. I tell this to people who talk to me about HPSP. Reason being is that you're loans will take care of themselves in the end (nursing is a career in high demand), but if you're unhappy with the military your commitment can seem like forever. I know, I've been there.

As for ROTC, I'm pretty sure they're all about average. No one service is going to offer you anything better than another. It may be different, but not a "better" deal. It really boils down to what branch you are interested in pursuing.

I've heard good and bad things about each branch, but overall I've heard the best things about the Army. Take that for what it's worth. Know this though, considering the United States' current endeavors (Afghanistan, Iraq, etc) there is a very good chance you WILL deploy (regardless of service). I would be very surprised if you didn't, particularly as a nurse. So again, make sure you want to be an officer (soldier) first and a nurse second.

Members don't see this ad :)
oops. wrong place. you all are talking about the military.
:)