Why do they even want to interview me at UNC????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bladerunner

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I am new and would appreciate anyone's thoughts on my bizarre situation.

I just received an invitation to interview at UNC. Elated? You bet. Confused? Big time. This is the deal. I graduated U.C. Berkeley with a 3.64 non-science degree. After graduation I spent two years in Japan as an elementary and junior high school English teacher and volunteered in a hospital in Tokyo which broadened my perspectives and introduced me to medicine. I also taught special education classes while in Japan. After returning to the states I enrolled in a post bacc program and currently have a 4.0 and have literally kicked ass in my sciences, many A+'s. I have also volunteered at Duke doing cancer research. I am a non-traditional student, age 29. These are the strengths of my application as well as some more. But here is what I am baffled about. MCAT: 5V 10P 9B/R. I don't dismiss the 5 as a fluke. It is true that verbal is not my strong point but I do not feel like a 5 is indicative of my true performance, on the practive tests I usually scored 7 or 8, maybe it was the stress of test day.

I know the stats guys, I have never heard of anyone getting in with a 5. I am a native English speaking white male. So why do they want to waste their time by interviewing me? Will they just tell me everything looks cool except the 5 so take it over and reapply next year. If that's the case then it seems like a waste of time and resources because I could easily tell myself the same thing. How am I supposed to interpret this. I want to go in there confident and feeling like I still have a chance. Are they just being courteous? Why waste their time and my time. What can I expect in the interview? I am so confused!!
Any thougths on this mess would be graciously accepted.