Will 3 months be enough time to study for the MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psyflgirl

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently started studying for the MCAT (3 weeks ago), I have been doing content review with Kaplan 7 subject books and I have only been able to get to the second chapter for each subject. I am stuck with stereochemistry and I have spent like 2 days trying to get it, so I am starting to get anxious about running out of time. I plan to take the MCAT at the beginning of May so that I can get the scores on time to apply in June. I work full time (and cannot afford to not work) and I have 12 weeks left to study, I have been studying 4 to 6 hrs (Mon to Thurs) and 7 hrs on Sundays but this is only allowing me to review one chapter per day, some days I cannot concentrate and that does not help. I have read a ton of forums, but I would appreciate some advice on how to improve my studying habits, and how to make the most out my time. I have been reading the Kaplan books, watching Khan as needed (takes a lot of time), and doing end of chapter questions, and the Kaplan section questions that are available for some chapters, and doing flashcards which I have not really gone over. I have not yet done a full practice exam which I know I should have done to begin with but it feels like 7 hours I will not be able to review. Are there any other resources you would recommend to make studying easier? I am ok with CARS, social sciences, biology, and biochemistry but not so good with chemistry, organic chemistry, and physics. Will I have enough time to get ready? Any helpful tips are greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.