Withdrawing from UMICH for the following reasons...???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TroubleTheCat

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I wondered if anyone is seriously considering withdrawing their acceptance offer from the University of Michigan for any of the following reasons:
-Michigan's economy is in shambles (on the verge of depression)
-lousy weather
-horrible parking situation
-apartments are very expensive and in poor condition
-research is emphasized far more than medical education
-elitist attitudes of the student body (who seem to be very dorky)
-elitist attitudes of administrative staff, clinicians, faculty
-the affirmative action debacle

Any other reasons why you may have reservations about UMICH please list them...I used to be an undergrad at U of M and I wonder if people from other schools who interviewed here really know more about this institution beyond what USNEWS might tell you.

Members don't see this ad.

I wondered if anyone is seriously considering withdrawing their acceptance offer from the University of Michigan for any of the following reasons:
-lousy weather

Any other reasons why you may have reservations about UMICH please list them...I used to be an undergrad at U of M and I wonder if people from other schools who interviewed here really know more about this institution beyond what USNEWS might tell you.
That was my reason. Hard to turn down the scholarship though.:(

Members don't see this ad :)
-lousy weather

I just want to say I agree with every one of these points. As a UMich undergrad, I can say I'm getting the heck out of this weather and away from the environment at Michigan. It is still a good school despite all these things however, and I know a lot of students that love it. You just have to figure out if it's the type of environment you want to be in.