Year off between Medical School and Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted815127

I am a MS3 and will soon be an MS4. I want to take an Year off between medical school and residency. What are the pros and cons? What can I do to help my chances?

I have a few reasons, for needing the time off.

1. I want an MPH, for knowledge purpose and because I eventually want a leadership position. My school offers an accelerated online program that I love and is highly recommended.

2. I am a DO student, will be applying for residency a/r merge happens so even though I am applying for primary care things will be tough. I had taken COMLEX and passed it on first try, however, with a lower score. I want to take STEP1 and level 3.

3. I have medical issues and need surgery for that. I have been postponing things but I want to start my residency wherever it may be on a healthy note.

4. I am starting to feel brunt out and don’t want to start residency an emotionally lost.

I will do my best to stay in contact with residency program. There is a good program near my place, I plan to contact the directors or resident and ask to shadow them. So they get to know me, maybe, get a foot in.

Members don't see this ad.

Taking a year off = not a great idea. Finishing medical school and graduating, then enrolling in an MPH means you won't be doing any clinical work for a year. If your scores are already not great, a lapse like this is going to make things worse.

Extending your training and getting an MPH = fine. You get the MPH next year, then complete your 4th year and match. I realize it may be too late for that, but that's your best plan.

Reactions: 6 users
All I can say is that I've heard it's really not good to do that, so I would recommend taking a year off between MS3 and MS4. I know a lot of people who took a year off during that time to pursue research or additional degrees.

Reactions: 1 users