Your favorite old school technology that will shock new grads

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dred Pirate

Pharmacist
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was talking to some of our residents and I realized just how much technology has changed over my career. I graduated in 04 - so the internet was just really taking off while I was in school and have seen a decent amount of technology change. I thought it would be fun to talk about how "we used to do" things from at technology perspective.

One of the oddest things looking back was ordering via the Telxon. For you youngins, you had this handheld machine (see below link) where you would type in the NDC of the product you wanted to order, then you would call the wholesaler on the phone, and when it picked up, you would hold the telxon speaker against the phone and it would sound like a fax machine and submit your order.

Amazon product

Members don't see this ad.

• Wow
  • Love
Reactions: 10 users
Based on your headline, I thought you were talking about a Van de Graaff generator.

But the Texlon is cool too.

Reactions: 1 user
Based on your headline, I thought you were talking about a Van de Graaff generator.

But the Texlon is cool too.
Haha. Those were cool. I should buy one for my home office.

Members don't see this ad :)
OMG charting systems and reading cursive hand writing from dozens of different people (bumble F OH, WV on rotations)

Techs today are baffled, dazed and confused whenever he/she gets to see an actual hard copy Rx

give me a good old TI scientific calculator over some god forsaken ”smart” phone touch calculator

• Love
I've heard stories of the telxon but started after they were phased out. That was the first thing I thought of reading the thread title though.

Same. I saw one IRL but it wasn’t being used.