University of Chicago Anesthesia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

friedcalamari

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone have thoughts on UofC anesthesia? Comments from residents, med students who rotated their, or from people that have interviewed there are welcome. I interviewed there recently and really liked the place, but some second opinions would be nice. The chair sent me a letter saying that I would be an excellent 'fit' for their program and that I "would be ranked accordingly". Anyone else get one of these?

Members don't see this ad.

Great program. My favorite in Chicago when I interviewed there a few years back. Solid all around and seems like everyone was happy. I did remember getting an email after I interviewed and a phone call from someone I interviewed with a week before match.

I found this in a thread not too long ago:

----------
I am a current resident at this program, and I'd like to share a few things with current med students who may consider this program as a place to train in the future.
I am currently in my second year (CA2) and am still unhappy. I started here thinking it would be a great place to practice, given the prestigious name but what I've learned is far different from what was expected. The attendings are smart, without a doubt, but are very distant and basically require us to call them Dr. X, Y and Z -- even if they just graduated 1-2 years ago. The newer attendings, from my experience, lack confidence and are terrible at making decisions on their own. I've come to learn that they chose academics, some of them, as they were too afraid to go into the private world due to their inability to be independent.

Our coordinators, except for one, are terrible. One actually picks CRNAs over us. He despises working with residents and has a huge personality disorder.