This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stressed student024

Reaction score
-

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I’m currently a sophomore, and I think I’m a good candidate to apply to medical school despite it being so early. However, I want some validation because today my premed advisor told me that a girl with a 4.0 gpa and 512 MCAT has not received any interview invites due to too few service hours. However, I am struggling to find recent quantities of hours. For those wondering why I am eager to apply now- I will graduate next year and do not want to take a gap year if at all possible because that would involve moving back in with my parents which is not ideal for a number of reasons. If I have to take a gap year then so be it, but I genuinely think I may be qualified to apply. Nonetheless, my stats are:
3.98 gpa (both core and science)
MCAT- will take in a month but expecting a 508 minimum and pushing for closer to 512 (pretend it’s 508 in case I royally mess up)
Will have 160-170 hours of clinical volunteering, 150-180 (maybe more) nonclinical volunteering, 2 major leadership positions, 60 hours shadowing, approx. 300 hours as a research assistant (possibly my name as a coauthor on a paper or my own poster by this May but not for now), and numerous clubs that contribute to experiences that I can really talk about. Personal statement is based on how extracurriculars have helped me become passionate about serving the underserved particularly with research I have done on transgender healthcare and my community service at the local food bank.
Long story short, I know that no one can give me a set answer, but I am planning to apply to “low tier” schools and just need an idea of if I’m truly a decent candidate or would be wasting $1-2k and a whole lot of time.
Please be honest, but also be nice.
Edit: ignore me and listen to Goro's post