3.45 cGPA, 3.38 sGPA, 507 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

myhero829

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Michigan resident, will be graduating from Wayne State University this Fall. ORM.

cGPA: 3.45
sGPA: 3.38
(Upward trend: 3.3 freshman to 3.7 senior. Also, I have an F on my transcript from a computer science class I took as a dual enrollment class during my junior year of high school back in 2014, that F alone lowered my cumulative from a 3.55 to a 3.45)

MCAT (Score just came in today): 507 (127,123,129,128)

Extracurricular Activities (Most of them):
  • Detroit Varsity Football team head coach (3 seasons, 850 hours, founding coach of new program)
  • Volunteer Varsity Football assistant coach at the high school I graduated from (1 season, 100 hours)
  • Emergency department medical scribe (1020 hours)
  • ED Medical Scribe trainer (120 hours)
  • Molecular Microbiology research lab assistant (2 semesters, 200 hours, ongoing, was scheduled for a presentation before schools shut down due to COVID)
  • Emergency department clinical research assistant (70 hours)
  • Event coordinator of a student led Detroit volunteer organization (80 hours, ongoing)
  • Volunteer member of a now disbanded Syrian refugee relief and aid organization (120 hours)
Strong writing, PS and activities were reviewed by physicians, medical students, professional writers, etc. My writing has a theme centered towards serving underserved communities.

Strong LOR's from ED Physican (Head of research dept as well), ED Chief resident (Both physicians graduated from MSUCOM), research lab PI/ science instructor, Athletic Director/Dean of Student Affairs at the high school I coached for), 1 other science professor, and 1 nonscience professor.

I submitted my AAMC application about a week ago. I didn't have my MCAT score at the time but nonetheless, I applied to the following MD schools:

MSUCHM
Wayne State University