MD & DO Accepted to 2 med schools...seeking advice about PA now

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anon-maybe-doc

Reaction score
I made this account recently pretty much just to get a feel for what the internet has to say about my situation.

TLDR: i'm accepted to med school but struggling with the idea of work/life balance, passion, time commitment, etc. of medical school, considering PA school (change my mind).

To give you the story- I am a senior double major at my university, 3.93 GPA, 208 MCAT, accepted into 2 med schools, one DO and one MD.
I feel like I am a very proactive student, I put my best into my work and devote a lot of time to school already and feel I have a great work life balance. I don't put things off or procrastinate and I feel confident I can complete medical school, it's now a question of if I want to or not. I've jumped through the hoops of what needs to be done for medical school but am starting to realize with all of the tours I have been on, the students may have a quality I do not: they're insane.

All jokes aside, I have had doctors tell me not to be a doctor due to the stressors they face, I hear medical school students saying how they sleep for 5 hours a night and study for 12-15 during the day. I have to spend 8 more years of the prime of my life only to be worried about being on-call all the time, worrying about malpractice, and having little time for anything else? I kind of want to know if these doctors just aren't good fits and if these students just aren't very proactive.