ACLS bradycardia vs. PEA question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

risnwb

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've got a quick question about when to use the bradycardia vs. pea ACLS algorithms:

If you have a patient who becomes unresponsive, and your unsure if a faint pulse is present (we can say that there's no pulse), and your monitor shows sinus bradycardia or third degree block, do you follow the bradycardia algorithm and begin transcutaneous pacing immediately to correct the symptomatic bradycardia, or do you begin the PEA algorithm and initiate CPR?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

so even if you think the bradycardia is causing the hypotension and resulting in lack of palpable pulse, you still do CPR rather than pace the patient to correct what you think is the underlying problem?
ok. thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)
I worked as a paramedic for quite sometime and am not an anesthesiologist so I may not have the perfect treatment plan. IMHO I was thinking that if you have no detectable pulse you should begin CPR and, thus, you would assume the patient to be in a PEA. You would also be giving atropine, as well as epi, as part of the treatment plan so if it is a severe bradycardia there is a good chance that it may respond to the pharmacological treatment and raise the HR and BP. If you witness this incident you may be more or less sure that the patient is in a severe bradycardia so you may be better off pacing than immediately starting CPR. You could also use U/S to check for cardiac movement for definitive proof, but you should be prepared for cardiac arrest.

Last edited:
If the contractions cannot generate a palpable pulse, then chest compressions. There is no circulation. Speeding up the rate of these contractions is just stepping on the gas without changing gears.