PhD/PsyD Advice for a non-traditional clinical psych student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrSlyStone

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

Longtime lurker, first post! I am feeling slightly lost and welcome all advice.
I am a non-traditional student (32/m) and have become interested in pursuing clinical psychology. I originally considered the LCSW path but have become more interested in a PhD; although my interests are primarily clinical right now, I really want a solid foundation in psychology and to be capable of conducting and interpreting research. I have particular interests in researching therapy modalities for mood/anxiety disorders and global mental health.

I don't have a background in psychology and am wondering how to become a competitive applicant in this very competitive field. I am considering Northwestern's psychology postbac (about $20k) and am also considering taking classes at a state university to catch up (cheaper). I am trying to avoid the MA degree due to costs and time. I am likely volunteering in a research lab in Atlanta this summer.

Is there anything else I should be doing? Do you think a formal postbac is worth it or would it be enough to get research experience and take some classes at a state school? I would be especially interested in hearing from those who did the Northwestern program.

I am coming from a background in classical music, I'm a Fulbright scholar, and I speak two other languages fluently (French and Dutch). Not sure if any of this is relevant, but just wanted to give some background. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user