This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ee1025

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a freshman, planning on applying to med school after my junior year so that I do not take a gap year, ideally. Right now, I am involved with several volunteer-based clubs at my university, but looking forward, I would like to get any advice on how/when to gain clinical experience such as volunteering in a hospital setting, research, and shadowing. I am taking a prerequisite over the summer, so I do not have much time for a heavy commitment then. I am currently exploring the opportunity to shadow a neurologist this semester, and I will be taking a class that will give me 25 hours of shadowing in the fall of my sophomore year.

My current clubs are:
-making arts and crafts with children in the hospital weekly
-babysitting children with autism monthly
-eating dinner with developmentally handicapped individuals weekly
-I just joined a sorority (philanthropy involves interacting with children)
-minor involvement with my religious group

I plan on starting research for credit in the spring of my sophomore year, which would leave me with around 400 hours of research by time of application.

Mainly, I am struggling to find opportunities for clinical volunteering. The main hospital associated with my university is full currently for student volunteers. I have been looking into summer opportunities in my city at home as well as other hospitals near my university, but I am struggling to find options that are clinical. Is just playing with young patients or transporting patients around the hospital considered clinical? Could I still put that down as medical related volunteering?

Any advice is helpful! I just want to see what I can do early on to boost my resume so I maximize my chances at success when I apply in 2.5 years. :) Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user