Quantcast

Other OT-Related Information Advice please!! OT/PT life

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rayatbh

5+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hi everyone !
I'm a senior in high school and I'm in a dual credit program so I'm also a freshman in college. I have been trying to figure out what I want to do as a career as time is running out but I AM SO CONFUSED!
I originally always saw myself as wanting to do pre-med but I'm just now realizing that I don't want to live a doctor's lifestyle (although I love the job!). I've been looking into similar careers that would allow me to have a more flexible lifestyle.
Occupational therapy peaked my interest (with a plan to major in psychology) and physical therapy seems cool too, although it seems like I'd get burnout and it allows for less creativity.
Are there any OTs or even PTs that can share how a day in their life is like?
Pros and Cons?
What other kinds of careers could I look into (or should I give medicine a try)?
Also my ultimate goal is to be a professor, how would I go about that? And what is the wage like?
I know this is really long but I'd truly appreciate any input!

sportschick21

Reaction score
Hi everyone !
I'm a senior in high school and I'm in a dual credit program so I'm also a freshman in college. I have been trying to figure out what I want to do as a career as time is running out but I AM SO CONFUSED!
I originally always saw myself as wanting to do pre-med but I'm just now realizing that I don't want to live a doctor's lifestyle (although I love the job!). I've been looking into similar careers that would allow me to have a more flexible lifestyle.
Occupational therapy peaked my interest (with a plan to major in psychology) and physical therapy seems cool too, although it seems like I'd get burnout and it allows for less creativity.
Are there any OTs or even PTs that can share how a day in their life is like?