This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

C81115

Levi
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I'm a psychology undergrad student at Rollins College in Florida, though I am willing to relocate to anywhere in the U.S. I'm looking for some advice about applying for APA accredited Psy.D/Ph.D. programs. I've spent a decent amount of time looking over these forums, so I understand average GRE and GPA requirements, though where I'm having difficulty is knowing how to gain research and volunteer experience in this field. Where do I start? I've been told to try volunteering at Big Brothers Big Sisters of America, though what about volunteering at mental health facilities--does anyone know how I would start that process? Please take a look at my background that I've highlighted below to give me any other pointers.

Thank you in advanced! Your help is much appreciated.

Some background:

My current GPA is 3.75. All A's except a B in Biol and a C+ in Stats. I've posted my transcript to far below. I'm at the halfway point, and I have mainly psychology classes ahead of me.

Transcript: [each class is four cr.]

200 Cult Anthropol: A
110 Public Speaking: A-
322 Islam, Culture & Politics: A
101 Business & Innovation: A
200 Into to Liberal Arts: A
260 Foundations of Leadership: A
261 Citizenship Action: A
200 The Healthcare System: A
101 Intro to Psych: A
300 Expo Writ Persuasive: A
306 Modern Humanities: A
101 Health & Wellness: A
103 Biology: B
301 Psy Research Methods: A
304 Statistics C+

Total Credits: 58
Cum GPA: 3.75

Fall 2017:

211 Social Psy
310 Psychopathology
343 Psych of Relationships

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sure most of this is covered in the WAMC thread (which you should read carefully as it has good information in it), but I'll still recap some quick thoughts.