Advice/Suggestions....

Pud$Mommy2017

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting and its not even for me.....it's for my daughter. My 10-year old daughter who is almost half way through her 5th grade year. I'm trying not to be "THAT mom". lol. But she's also has wanted to be a doctor since she was 4. Her career choice has changed slightly-from Doctor to ER (Trauma) Doctor to Pediatric Doctor...but all the while she still wants to be a doctor.

I know she won't even be in middle school/junior year for another year, but if she stays on this career path, is there anything she should she get into extra curricular/volunteer wise (beyond keeping her grades up)? Does anyone have any advice for her/me?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
She’s 10! Let her be a normal kid and do what she wants! If she’s really interested a few years down the line (like end of high school at the absolute earliest) then that’s a time to revisit this. For now, NTD.

Reactions: 4 users
It's waaaaaaaaaay too early for her to do anything that would help her get into med school. You only list college extracurriculars on your application (or ones continued from high school). She may even change her mind by the time she'd apply. Not saying you do anything less, but I'd just support her and not pressure her.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I also agree that it’s way too early to do anything that will really impact her medical school admissions. I went to a science-oriented summer camp and I really loved it, so I’m sure there are plenty of programs in your community that can still help her foster a love of medicine while being a kid.

Reactions: 1 users
Hello everyone,