Am I smart enough to be a med student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheBateman

Pre-Med Killer
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sophomore here having several doubts if med school is right for me. I am aware of the vast amounts of work that is assigned in the first two years of med school and I was just wondering if I was capable of handling it. Until now, I have been getting very good grades but I put A LOT of time into my classes. I see some kids go out a few days before a test when I am usually found in the library or an empty classroom doing nothing but studying for that test. It also doesn't help that I am a really slow reader. Maybe I'm still learning time management but what if I'm not smart enough for med school? I don't want to find that out later on but I can't help but worry. Do I have some kind of learning disability? Why does it take me 2 or 3 times as long as some other people to learn things? I get As but I put in a ridiculous amount of work to do so.

I'd appreciate anyone's advice/thoughts regarding my situation. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Personal little story of mine (maybe it will motivate; maybe not):

I got tested last year for ADD because I, too, take FOREVER to read a single chapter in a book. Sometimes, going ALONE to the library for 4-5 hours will result in me reading/understanding maybe 15 pages of a book. I am the slowest reader on earth. I had HUGE doubts freshman year. But, I am happy to report, I got a job that gives me some down time between work. Therefore, every half hour or so at work I get about 15 minutes of free time. I found that frequent breaks helps so I can have a fresh 15 minutes of reading (though slow). That way, on an 8-hour shift at work, i really can read/understand an entire chapter SLOWLY but surely haha.