"Anesthesiologists aren't MDs..."

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CodeBlu

Dream Weaver
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, today I heard from a few people that this misconception apparently exists out there?? I find it really strange that people think that. Just wondering about anyone else's experience with something similar?

Members don't see this ad.

I had this exchange with a patient a few months ago

Patient: "How long does it take become an anesthesiologist?"
Me "4 years college, 4 years medical school, and 4 years for an anesthesiology residency."
Patient "So, that takes as long as a doctor?"
Me "I am a doctor."
Patient "But you're an anesthesiologist..."

Reactions: 1 user
Wait until the CRNAs start wearing their DNP lab coats around the hospital. "I'm an anesthesia nurse with a doctorate in anesthesia and all the studies show I'm just as good as an Anesthesiologist."

Members don't see this ad :)
This is why I always introduce myself as the anesthesia physician or anesthesia doctor. Remove any confusion or doubt when it comes to your education or role in their care.

If you really want to burn the a$$ of the militant CRNA types, introduce and refer to them as anesthesia nurses.

Reactions: 1 users
I heard a holding room nurse tell a patient "the doctors and anesthesia will be out to see you soon" the other day.

This is why I always introduce myself as "Dr. Lightwand, the anesthesiologist that will be taking care of you today."

I haven't heard that with my own ears, but it is more than feasible for a layman to make that mistake...

Along with individuals thinking:

psychiatrists aren't MDs, but rather are psychologists/therapists.
radiologists didn't graduate from med school, but rather community college (i.e. rad techs).
ophthalmologists aren't MDs, but rather the same thing as optometrists.