another neurotic self-doubt question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scpm

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
This topic has most likely been beat to death, but I could really use some reassurance or realistic advice. I'm a rising sophomore and I've been hardcore doubting myself and my intelligence since getting to college.

I went to a pretty subpar high school and was near the top of my class despite only having a ~3.6 gpa. My SAT scores were nothing to write home about (1150/1600)

College has been a totally different/more compettitive environment and I can't stop comparing myself to other people and thinking that I shouldn't even pursue being a doctor if my baseline intelligence isn't high enough, if that makes any sense.

I have a 3.88 after my first year which is good, but I spent more time studying and worked harder than I ever have in my academic life. I utilized every single resource I had, went to counseling for anxiety, went to every single tutor / office hours session, and had to cut back on working to focus on school. Looking back, I could have studied even more efficiently and hope to improve next year. I also applied to and got rejected from my school's Honors college. I go to a state school, and I'm worrying that the lack of ~~prestige is already gonna hurt me. I did do some ECs though, so it wasn't ONLY school.

I'm so scared that I'll hit a wall and won't be able to compensate with working hard to make up for not instantly understanding certain concepts at some point, and that even if I somehow make it I won't be a good doctor.