Applying to Medical School: Gap year or no gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medschoolhopeful!

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my 1st sem. of my junior year @ Colgate University. My major is Molecular Bio & I have a cGPA of 3.61 & 3.43 for sciences. I know it is not ideal, but I also know that Colgate is known for grade deflation & some have told me that will be considered (?)

I am trying to decide if I need to take a gap year in order to be competitive for med school. Otherwise, I will sit for the MCAT this spring (study 4 months...while taking a lighter course load) & apply to medical school in the next cycle (June).

related info:

-studied a semester abroad
-have done over 100 hours of shadowing
-I am hispanic (not sure if that changes chances)
-Probably 50+ hours volunteering (both clinical and non-clinical)
-Involved in clubs on campus (not a leader in any though)
-both parents are physicians
-I know that I can get 2 very strong recommendation letters (one character letter from a boss and one from a non-science prof) and possibly a strong one from a physician I shadowed. I could get one from a science prof as well but I am not sure about how strong it would be.
-Also, I have not conducted any research (I will be my senior year, after applying)
-I don't have a preference for MD over DO so I am interested in my chances for both.

I know that taking a gap year could potentially help my GPA (and maybe even MCAT score because I could study over summer rather than in semester, although I will take a lighter course load) but I am wondering what my chances of acceptance are (I am assuming pretty low) without taking one.