APR vs interest rate when refinancing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

heyinternetman

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm no mortgage expert but I think I understand APR vs interest rate when getting a loan, (i.e. APR is your effective interest rate after they roll their fees into the loan, so basically it's your effective interest rate) and this one has me stumped. So I got a call from my current mortgage holder that they want to offer me a refinance from our current 4.5% $88,700 loan to to a $90,900 3.625% interest loan with an APR of 4.575%. We would keep our same payoff date and pay nothing upfront, everything is rolled into the loan. They say we will save $3,700 on the life of the loan. This seems fishy to me though, why is the APR so much higher than the interest, I know it's always higher but that seems like it's too much higher. So even though the interest rate of 3.625% is lower than my current 4.5%, if the APR is higher at 4.575% then in the end I'm actually losing money correct? My current interest rate is effectively = to my APR now because I've already paid the loan fees correct? Or at least I'm saving so little money there isn't much point in even doing the loan paperwork? We haven't decided yet but we may sell the house in 2 years and if we're adding $2,200 to the loan right now I'm thinking that would be a huge waste if we did.

We refinanced with them a few years ago and they were really easy to deal with and everything worked out fine, but my spidey senses are going off this time. They're really pushy about it, they've called me out of the blue several times this last week and used things like "our vice president would like to speak with you...", and "the paperwork is only good for 48 hours" all that stuff that just reeks of trying to pull one over on me.