This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDoctorX-men

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, :)

I hope that everyone is doing well! I just have a question regarding asking my Medical School mentor for a favour. Please keep in mind that this might be a little long!
So here's the background:
My med school mentor is currently a fourth year medical student and he will be graduating this May. I am super duper proud of him and his achievements and I really look up to him as a role model and as a big brother. I've known him for two years now and we first met during my freshman year of college through a community mentorship program.
Now, I am a sophomore in college and I plan on pursuing a medical profession. However, I also plan on taking a 1-2 years of Gap year (most likely 2years) in order to help improve my CV, continue my volunteering, shadowing and also start working in order to help save up money before I apply to Med school. I plan on applying on a hospital as a technician of some sort, I'm not picky and I can take on any profession given to me. :)

---------//----------//---------
So, since I do pan on taking 2 years of Gap year, this is where my favour for my mentor comes into play.
Since he will be graduating this May, I would really like to ask him if he still has any of his old Notes and possibly Books that he used when he was in his 1st and 2nd year of Medical school, maybe also 3rd, if he took any which I highly doubt.
The only problem is that I don't know how to approach asking this question... :(

Should I just ask him straight up and also ask him if he can give me some of his notes and books.
OR
Should I ask him about his note and books and then offer to pay for them?
I kinda feel a little awkward being in this situation and I really don't want to offend him in anyway shape or form since I highly respect him!:shy: