Best courses to take for MCAT and most useful major for premed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Most useful premed major that will get you a good job even if you don't get into med school

• Total voters

fvtvrist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a freshman currently in a "mid-year crisis". I am a biology major, however I just don't see what I will be able to do with it if I don't get into med school. I am considering switching over to business administration pre-med or chemistry pre-med. Which do you think will be the most viable, or are there any other majors that are better?

Secondly, what classes do you recommend to be the most helpful for the 2015 MCAT, (obviously besides gen biology, gen chemistry, psychology, sociology, organic chemistry, physics)?

I am worried since my undergrad institution is not too well known it will create an issue for me when being viewed as an applicant to med school, especially because I received C+ grades in general chemistry and biology (which was an extremely tough class because our professor based every test and quiz off the MCAT). What do you guys think?

Lastly, I want to be dermatologist, are there any med students who are training for dermatology right now or any current dermatologists with any advice? How competitive is it, what classes are best, etc. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Biology (Molecular/Cell Biology)
Biochemistry
Chemistry (Orgo, Gen Chem)
Physics
Statistics (Biostats or Psych stats)
Psychology (General overview)
Sociology (General overview)
Neuroscience

Members don't see this ad :)
If you don't like it then switch.

especially because I received C+ grades in general chemistry and biology

This is what you need to worry most about at the moment.

Reactions: 1 user
Your questions one at a time: