Called an NP a midlevel...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashleigh99MD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got chewed out for calling referring to the NP/PA at work collectively as "midlevels." I was using the term while talking to a coworker, when an NP who works in a different department overheard me. She came over and told me that I was using an offensive term, then lectured me about how if she is a midlevel then does that make her staff low level.

I am a lab tech. Who on her staff is lower level than me?? I've heard several of the MDs and PAs I work with use the term. So what gives? Is it really an offensive term.

Members don't see this ad.

I got chewed out for calling referring to the NP/PA at work collectively as "midlevels." I was using the term while talking to a coworker, when an NP who works in a different department overheard me. She came over and told me that I was using an offensive term, then lectured me about how if she is a midlevel then does that make her staff low level.

I am a lab tech. Who on her staff is lower level than me?? I've heard several of the MDs and PAs I work with use the term. So what gives? Is it really an offensive term.

:corny:

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Everything is offensive these days. Oxygen is offensive.

I can see why they would consider it offensive when our overlords are melting us all into a nebulous entity called provider.

Just take note of it, and carry on. Eventually, hopefully, you'll be in a position where it doesn't matter anymore.

Reactions: 14 users
Guess she was triggered. Don't sweat it and just move on.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: 12 users
I'd be sooo tempted to say "Sorry, doctor. Or no wait. I mean sorry, ma'am."

Reactions: 38 users
https://www.aanp.org/images/documents/publications/useofterms.pdf