Canadian student: USMD, USDO, International?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sandprince

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I'm a Canadian student, just graduated from my science undergrad. I am currently in the process of figuring out which route I want to take... it's incredibly stressful.

My cGPA is a 3.65, GPA with lowest year dropped (first year) is a 3.85
MCAT is a 509, currently rewriting.

My extracurriculars are pretty good, but they are mainly community work (not too much clinical besides brief shadowing, and some hospital volunteering).

Currently I am trying to decide what my best options are... I don't want to continue wasting time living for the next application cycle. I have completed 90% of my AMCAS application, however LOR's are my main problem... there is no medical committee where I am, and asking professors who do not personally know me for letters is a bit of a stretch. I feel I would be decently competitive if I lived in USA but not much as an international. My other options would be: USDO (Lots of $$ for someone originally aiming for an M.D.), Ireland medical schools (I have EU citizenship, but also lots of $$), UK medical schools, Polish medical schools, or work retail with my useless degree as I hope for another "chance" the coming year.

Anyone have any advice? Would greatly appreciate any insight anyone has.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You cannot complete AMCAS on time to be "early" if you don't have LORs lined up this year, as an international. Sorry.

Waiting a year is your best option. However, Ireland is actually pretty good too since you'd be eligible for residency there with EU citizenship. (Obviously confirm this, but it seems logical...)

Rule 1: Take A Breath

Wasting time until the next application cycle? Is your goal is to get into medical school or to get into medical school quickly?

You are an international student