MD Career Change from Engineering.. low GPA path forward

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PEconsideringMD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm 27 years old and am strongly considering changing careers.

I am currently a chemical engineer. I am very good at my job, and could be successful, but at the end of every day I find myself wondering "why?" What's the point? Anytime I am successful it solely benefits the CEO and VPs. I am at the point where I am starting to get involved in the politics of the chemical industry, and I cannot see myself spending my life fighting the corporate battle.

I had always wanted to study medicine. I grew up in foster care, which was particularly difficult as I approached college, and I abandoned my dream of becoming an MD for the fastest path I could think of to get myself stable, which was engineering.

Since I was 100% on my own, I worked three jobs through college, and graduated with a 2.9 cGPA, which was a half a point above the school average, but is abysmally low for even considering med school. Since my degree was science, I doubt my sGPA is much higher.

I currently live in Louisiana, and have read into the 32-hour policy. I have reached out to try and set up a meeting with LSU-NOLA admissions, and I think that I will dip my toes in the water at LSU with a class or two next semester. Since I went to engineering school I would have to take a few things like English and Stats.