Changing my major to... Chemistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AortaSorta

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! Forgive me if I don't do this correctly, this is my first time on this site.

I was accepted as a high school senior into a 5-year PA program. I was projected to get a degree in Human Bio in 3.5 years and a masters in Physician Assistant Studies in 5.

I'm a sophomore now, and after doing some shadowing hours I'm realizing that the PA position just isn't for me. I'm much more interested in Med school. My cGPA/sGPA is 3.99. I go to a smaller school and there aren't a lot of majors to choose from.

However, I want to get myself on the right track to prepare for Med school. The Human Bio track is only for Pre-PA students, so I have to change to something else. I am currently in Organic Chemistry with a 99% in the class and I love it. I am definitely leaning toward Chemistry as a major.

My question is, would be it better to get a degree in Chemistry (possibly with a minor in Bio) or to just major in Biology? I have heard that the degree is not as important as doing well in Med school prereqs and having lots of experience.

What are the pros/cons of a Chemistry degree vs a Biology degree in terms of experience, preparation for Med school, opportunities, etc.?

Members don't see this ad.

Regarding prep for Med school, it'll be the same because you still would have to take the pre-reqs. In the end, choose a major that you like the most and continue doing well in your classes.

Reactions: 1 users