This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.NigerianQueen

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
(This is my first time posting so I am not sure if this is the right forum. Please redirect me if I’m wrong)
I am going into my last semester of undergrad (will graduate May 2020). I have several questions I wanted to ask.
Quick Stats Overview
- URM (AA)
- cgpa (rn) = 3.38 (will explain below)
-sgpa (rn) = 3.1
- have been volunteering at a local hospital for 2 years now.
- 1 full year of undergrad research
- leadership role of a club (volunteer coordinator)
- will be doing clinical job (CNA) all of next semester and the following summer
............... Questions................
- Grades: my sophomore was the WORST year ever. Due to personal reasons my gpa dropped to a 3.3. After that, I have a very strong upward trend my junior year. (Straight As) until this past semester my senior year. I got a C- and a C in two courses. I am honestly so disappointed. Most of the grades in those two classes I did well in but the finals brought me down significantly.
- After finals this semester my cgpa dropped significantly from 3.48 to 3.38. If I retake the C- that I got, I will still only graduate with a 3.52 cgpa. (When I was hoping to graduate with a 3.6) If I don’t retake it. I will graduate with (the highest possible) a 3.48. Is it worth retaking?
- I am already planning on taking a gap year and completing a post bacc or masters’ during the gap year. But at this rate I don’t think I will be able to take the MCAT during May 2020. Because I really would not like to rush into taking the MCAT. And would only like to take it once in my lifetime. I would have to take time off and study my butt off and I just don’t think I want to study during my last semester.