CONFUSED! WHEN AM I SUPPOSED TO STUDY FOR AND TAKE THE MCAT??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted812577

Hi! I'm a freshman and my major is biomedical sciences.
I'm currently in my first semester and I'm taking Gen Chem 1 as my only science but next semester I'm going to take Physics 1 and Gen Chem 2 and in the summer I'll be taking Bio 1 and Physics 2 (maybe???). Next fall, I'll take orgo, etc.

Anyways, I want to take the MCAT maybe towards the end of junior year so I can apply to med school during the summer after junior year because by then I'll have all my pre-reqs done. I always see people posting here that they study for like 8 hours a day but I'm confused- where do they get this time?? Do they study during the school year? How can they put aside that many hours if they still have to take classes? Am I missing something?? Do I have to take it BEFORE junior year starts?! Ahhhhh so many questions

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

1) You are a freshman in college. Your goals right now should be to ace your pre-req classes and have some fun. Relax. Breathe. Join some orgs. Consult with your pre-health advisor about a plan for the next 4 years.

2) Depending on how you do on your pre-reqs, your plans for the MCAT might change drastically. Taking it during school might not be a good option and other opportunities might arise during your summers that would not allow you to study for the MCAT during the summer. That's OK. Your goal is to figure out how you study and to make a commitment to study for the MCAT once and only once. Do it right the first time. Yes, that means 8+ hours a day for some people (like me) or just on the weekends (like some smart people I know). You have 2 years to figure that out - take all the time you need.