considering switching to podiatry school (long)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NKcell123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'd like some opinions about what people think my chances are for getting into podiatry school.

I'm actually a 3rd year graduate student in Immunology, at a decent university. I've completed all my coursework, now am working on my comprehensive exam (next month) and of course just research. I'm miserable. I don't like this field, and my research is going nowhere. Everyone in grad school and most lab people are miserable, even professors. I'm a people person and feel like I need to be in a field where I'm with patients/people. I'm not sure that I'm cut-out for an M.D. program, but I do feel that I'm technically skilled, and would still like to be in the Medical profession. I honestly never considered Podiatry before. It never came to my mind as an option that was available to me. Most Biology majors either think -Med school, dental school, or grad school. Professions like podiatry and optometry seem to get overshadowed. I've recently seen a podiatrist twice for a foot problem I have. Once I saw her, got treated, and realized the kind of work she does, I felt like this was something more along the lines that I would be good at and would probably like. Though I have never actually shadowed a podiatrist.

I have never done an MCAT and my GPA is just a little over 3.0 but we're talking graduate level courses in Immunology, Cell Bio, Genetics, etc etc. My GRE scores were average, at least enough to get into grad school whatever they required.

So, how hard will the MCAT be? If I were to apply for Fall 2012, I'd have to take the MCAT by April probably, so that's about 3 months to study. more concerned about the chemistry section and biochemistry.