Creighton Phoenix vs Drexel vs Rosalind Franklin

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RocketScientist05

Reaction score
Hey guys, trying to decide between these 3 schools. I'm a FL resident so they're all very comparable tuition wise with some variation in COL. RFU is slightly cheaper COL in North Chicago. Distance from family isn't that relevant since they're all somewhat far from home.

Thinking about aiming for Optho or something more surgical so I'm definitely leaning towards more competitive specialties.

Creighton Phoenix
$65k tuition/estimated $97k COA.

Pros
  • Phoenix would be a nice place to live. Being from Florida and going to undergrad in California, I want to use it's more similar to what I'm used to and like.
  • People here seemed genuinely happy from students to admissions to faculty.
  • May want to match to a program on the west coast, but I don't think it'd make a huge difference with these schools.
  • I like the class size of 130ish.
  • I want to say they have more established rotation sites.
Cons
  • Relatively new campus which might be a good and a bad thing. Overall not too worried, but I could be overlooking something.

Drexel
$62k tuition/estimated $95k COA.

Pros
  • Somewhat more well known, but I don't know how much more/if it really matters.
  • I want to say there are more opportunities to match into optho or another more surgical specialty.
  • Philly seems nice in some areas, I don't think the Drexel area is supposed to be that bad.
Cons
  • Pretty big class size.
  • I'm not too sure about their rotations, but I know Hahnemann closed.
  • Don't know how I feel about the weather, but I think it could potentially be fun.
RFU
$64k tuition/estimated $89k COA.

Admittedly I know the least about this school.

Pros
  • It's a med school, and it's somewhat well known?
Cons
  • Don't know how I feel about North Chicago.
  • Heard they don't have a teaching hospital.