Dental COVID Complications

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joseph.zajac

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, first time poster here. I’m currently a pre-dental sophomore at a private college, and I’m finding it really hard to find dental opportunities. I switched last April to pre-dental from premed and kinda feel left behind. I currently have 40 hours of dental shadowing and 10~ hours of dental volunteering (I have 70~ hours volunteering in non-dental related fields).

I was just wondering how worried should I be? I see students on SDN working in dental offices getting 100s/1,000s of dental hours (and good for them). Meanwhile, I’ve been rejected from 7 dentists this winter break alone after asking to shadow (all for good reasons sure, but still soul sucking). I like to think of myself as a hard working student who doesn’t make excuses but COVID has made this process a lot more difficult. I think 150 shadowing hours by the time of application is reasonable, but then again I don’t even know what is good since COVID hit. Volunteering is going to be harder because the clinic releases 5/6 2 hr opportunities per month to be shared by 10~ pre-dental students.

Thanks guys, any response helps.

For reference:
•4.0 gpa in honors curriculum (hopefully stays this way).
•Officer positions in a medical club and a social club (schools version of a fraternity).
•Social service director for freshman class - 20~ hours of volunteer time.
•2 semesters being a TA (Gen bio and Gen chem).
•1 semester of undergrad research (non-dental related) - 50+ hours.
•Member of the schools steel drum band (till COVID cuts removed the director)- 100+ hours.
•30+ hours volunteering in a free clinics pharmacy.
•20+ hours volunteering as a speech coach for high schoolers/middle schoolers.

Members don't see this ad.