Dental Pre-Requisites - Summer school - appropriate number of courses to take?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laska05

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a civil engineering graduate considering dental school. I have taken a general chemistry I course a long time ago when I was a freshmen in 2001, and a few other physics pre-requisites. I am hoping to start my pre-requisites this summer.

I recently talked to an advisor at a school I plan to take my pre-requisites and she advised/warned about taking many science courses over the summer at the same time due to course intensity, amount of material covered, soaking in the material, etc. (since it was so long ago that I had my chemistry, for instance). The amount of summer courses I take (post-bac) affects my dental school timeline.

1) Is taking 1 biology OR chemistry with a lab appropriate?
2) Is taking 1 biology AND 1 chemistry at the same time (with both labs) a seriously heavy workload? Should I do both, or is focusing on one class better?
3) Would taking General Chem II in summer school be very difficult for someone who took General Chem I in 2001 (9 years ago)? Would it be better to wait until the school semester and stretch my pre-requisites over 2 years? Or perhaps is General Biology I better as a starting point in the summer instead of General Chemistry II?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

If your summer is 10 weeks, I say you Probably can handle Bio + Chem as long as they are not Organic Chemistry, I would not suggest you double up with Organic Chems.