Discouraged pre-dental student, Need opinions...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EquitorialMind

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background story:
I majored in bachelor of arts for 3 years, then switched to computer science for 1 year and now I'm currently in a dentistry program for 1 year now.

Circumstance:
My GPA is approximately 2.5 and I am lacking dentist shadow experience, research experience, etc.

Things are looking pretty grim to me because I came from a background with very minimal exposure to science, math and biology.

I'm currently taking a little over 12 credit hours that are consisted of CORE classes (physics, organic chemistry, human anatomy, etc.) this means a lot of studying.

Although my circumstance does not seem favorable I am highly interested in getting my degree in biochemistry and further pursue into a career of dentistry.

TLDR version;
I am lost, and discouraged due to lack of connection or relevance with students who are in a pre-dental program at my university. This is not necessarily a question and I am sorry but I am in need of opinions or advice to succeed.

Members don't see this ad.

Well you're definitely going to need to do a post bac or SMP, no questions asked.

Reactions: 1 user
Background story:
I majored in bachelor of arts for 3 years, then switched to computer science for 1 year and now I'm currently in a dentistry program for 1 year now.

Circumstance:
My GPA is approximately 2.5 and I am lacking dentist shadow experience, research experience, etc.

Things are looking pretty grim to me because I came from a background with very minimal exposure to science, math and biology.

I'm currently taking a little over 12 credit hours that are consisted of CORE classes (physics, organic chemistry, human anatomy, etc.) this means a lot of studying.