This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.HarleyQuinn

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I think I am in need of some guidance; I have been very worried lately (probably over-worried). I want to know if you guys think that I have a chance at getting in to dental schools this coming application cycle. I am currently studying for my DAT that I am planning to take in the next couple of months. I didn't do as well as I should have in undergrad due to personal problems. I graduated from a UC with 2.9 GPA ( went to community college for the first two years and transferred with a 3.2) I have various extracurriculars; I did research in undergrad for about a year, tutored, etc. As for my dental experience, I have been working as a dental assistant for the past 6 months (going to leave soon to focus more on studying) and I am planning on doing more shadowing. I just really fell in love with dentistry through my experience in the profession and now really want to get in in Fall 2018 class. Do you guys think I have a shot, without doing a Master/PostBacc? I am aiming for the highest in the DAT (hoping at least 24). Thank you in advance to all your considerate advice; I really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

So if I read correctly, you transferred from CC with a 3.2 and now have a 2.9 at the University. That's not good. A lot of schools have a 3.0 cutoff. Some don't. Either case, the grade decline going from CC to Uni isn't going to bode well for you.

What if you get a 24AA? It's anyone's guess. There's plenty of high DAT with higher GPAs applying. For a solid shot, you should aim to raise your GPA. Consider a few postbacc courses or a Masters.

Reactions: 1 user