This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goldy120

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Brain is scattering and I'm dying for opinions even though the decision will be ultimately left for me...

So I love love love emergency medicine. I'm currently an EMT, and have wanted to practice it since highschool. Only problem is I know the hours can be hectic so it's going to bust time that I'd love to spend with my family in the future (I'm a very family orietated person) I don't want to make my husband miserable and have a loose relationship with my children because work is in the way..

On the other hand I have the option to go into dentistry.. which intrigues me but it doesn't pull me like emergency medicine does. But the life style is, from what I heard, 100x better.

Both pay pretty well so I'm not too caught up in the money

Both have different hardships pertaining to the schooling so I'm not too caught up in it as well but Medicine will be a longer route, again obscuring a decent lifestyle until my 20s which I'm aware of that risk and deal with it if it came Down to it

So I gues the question is would you follow what you love with a lot of consequences or SETTLE for a career choice for the rest of you life but have a good comfy life because of it

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

If you chose to go into EM, then med school and residency will be the hardest part. And just because you got into medical school, doesn't guarantee you get an EM residency. But if you do get to that point, once you finish your lifestyle is up to you. If you want to work in a Level 1 trauma center and see the toughest cases, you can chose to do that. But if after some time you want more time with family - you can just switch to working in an urgent care center 4 days a week, 9-5.