El Salvador Trip

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Csv321

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm planning to go to El Salvador for the Orphan Helpers Project and was wondering if anyone had any advice for going out of the country. This is my first time leaving the U.S. and am worried about safety, rules and regulations, how much money I should bring...etc....

Any advice/information/forewarnings would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

start here

http://sansalvador.usembassy.gov/

before i went to Guatemala, i registered with the U.S. embassy & sent a copy of my passport to them via email in case i'd lose my passport or have any other problems .. you can find this under Consular Services: American Citizen Services ..

as for safety, review the Security Alerts ..

also, check this ...
http://www.mdtravelhealth.com/destinations/mamerica_carib/el_salvador.html
i found this to be a wonderful site ..

make sure you've gotten your shots and check with your doctor as soon as possible about any other prescriptions you might need (i needed malaria pills) ..

if i remember anything else, i'll let you know .. have fun!

a camera!~ and get your film handsearched if you take film......other than that the organization who's hosting you should have a packet about what to bring/what to avoid...I've never been to elsalvador, so i really can't help other than general advice.....like pack, then unpack and get rid of half the stuff

Members don't see this ad :)
1. insect repellent
2. flashlight (for the indigenous parts of the country and walking around at night, which you shouldn't do alone anyway but i did)
3. batteries (for your flashlight, CD player, etc)
4. portable or handheld fan (i didn't realize i was going to the mountains so this was just extra luggage for me, but i'm guessing it's hot over in el salvador)