English Major seeking admissions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bouboule

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a second-year undergraduate working on my English Literature B.A. with a concentration in creative writing. Although I enjoy literature, my experience as a mental health peer counselor has made me realize that I love counseling. Therefore, I am considering becoming a psychologist/counselor, but I don't know what steps I should take towards gaining admissions into a Ph.D program for Psychology. I had previously been planning to apply to MFA writing programs, so I know next to nothing about psychology research or psychology graduate programs. I am, however, fascinated by psychology (have taken a few psychology upper divs) and am willing to work extra hard to catch up with my peers.

-What are the "basics" I should know about gaining admission into a program?

-Are most Psychology Ph.D programs fully funded?

-Will doing a double major in Literature/Psychology increase my chances of admission? (as opposed to a Psychology minor... I am not planning to drop Literature)

-What kind of "research experience" should I be looking for? (my university is among the top 20 schools for research in psychology, but I don't have any experience with research)

I will appreciate any additional information/advice that you have to offer. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)