This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Feeling Very Lost About My Career Choice. Help?

• Helpful

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Encouraging

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Lisa369

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a student from Asia. I finished high school two years ago and had to do a gap year in order to retake Mathematics, Physics and Advanced Mathematics to qualify myself for acceptance into science based fields. Ever since I was a child, I was given a headstart in English by my parents as well as other skills such as ballet and dance (which I dropped due to a lack of interest and appreciation). I did however latch on to English and the liking to help others as my mother was involved in lots of charity projects and I would be brought along to 'help out'.
My grades in Mathematics have always been bad (Fs to Bs) while Physics and Chemistry have been in the (Ds to As) range. On the other hand, I have never been bad at English, Biology or other humanities/art/sociology related subjects and as I got older never really had to try very hard to score well. However, I am facing a sort of crisis as I am not sure what I want to do and I am feeling quite lost at the moment.
One reason is that I am unsure whether I truly want to do medicine or another science based career or something completely different. My parents, especially my mother wants me to be a doctor because of the command that I would have with such a degree and also because she believes it is a gateway to better opportunities for me and a chance to leave the country. I do not disagree with her and I do realize that she puts tremendous effort into whipping me up into a decent person. I know that it is alot of money to send me to Medical School as well.