Feminine-presenting interviewee wearing a tie?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

queerMD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time posting, but I have an upcoming interview and would like to get opinions on my interview attire.

First off, let me say the med school at which I’m interviewing is LGBTQ friendly, asking applicants their gender identities and preferred pronouns. On my application, in addition to acknowledging that I’m gay and talking about my interest in LGBTQ health, I put my gender as gender-fluid, which is as it sounds, I don’t nicely fit into one specific gender identity, but rather fluctuate between genderqueer and female (most often towards genderqueer).

So, my interviewer will be able to see my preferred pronouns are she/her, but with an open file interview, they can also see I identify as gender-fluid. Which finally brings me to my question. I would like to wear a tie to my interview, but am slightly hesitant it could be perceived negatively and I don't want to jeopardize my future over a tie. Still, I have consistently heard the importance of going into an interview feeling comfortable and confident, and for me, that means wearing a tie.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
No tie. If people could just wear what they felt comfortable in there would be a lot more purple suits and sockless dress shoes. It could be perceived negatively, the best thing that could happen is nothing.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
No tie. If people could just wear what they felt comfortable in there would be a lot more purple suits and sockless dress shoes. It could be perceived negatively, the best thing that could happen is nothing.
Why would wearing a tie be perceived negatively?

Wat. What's wrong with wearing a tie ? Sorry confused here

Wat. What's wrong with wearing a tie ? Sorry confused here