Quantcast

first time post

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rocknrobyn

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

This is my first post and I am hoping you guys can help me out with a few questions. I have been thinking about a career in osteopathic medicine for about 8 months. I am really, really interested and have done a ton of research, but there are still some things I am unsure of. I graduated school (undergrad) in 1999 with a non-science degree. Later, I decided I wanted to become a nurse and began taking science courses at a community school before I could be accepted. Now, I am seriously thinking that being a D.O is more for me. I would have 5 more science classes to take if I decide this is the right path for me, but am wondering if this is something you guys think is even possible? My GPA is currently only a 3.1 but my grades have improved significantly since I have gone back to school. I worry that this type of GPA would make it impossible from the beginning. I do know that the rest of my science courses should be taken at a 4 year school. Has anyone heard of people with this type of GPA that have been accepted? If so, do your MCAT scores need to be well above the average?

Also, I am wondering if one can receive enough loan money to cover the entire cost of medical school? (I would not have any money from other sources.) If possible, how hard is it to pay back this money? I just don't want to be in debt my whole life!!!

Thank you so much for your repsonses! If you have any recommendations I would greatly appreciate it!

bgreet

Dopefish Lives!
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score