Freshman year of undergraduate and stressed about grades

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lynne8832

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm currently a second semester freshman majoring in pre-veterinary sciences and have a few questions about undergraduate grades. First semester was great and I made a 3.75 GPA, I was a member of pre-vet club and was very optimistic about going to vet school. I've always had very high expectations for myself when it comes to academics. I am now a month into second semester and things are going well, except for one of the Gen-Eds I am in. It's a history class and I currently have a low C in the class. My question is whether I should stick it out and finish with a C or if I should withdraw from the course. I still have 2 exams and a paper left but the professor is a hard grader and I'm not sure if I can bring it up to a B or if I should consider withdrawing (would withdrawing look better on my transcript than a C or a D in history?) I know this sounds ridiculous but my OCD gets the best of me when it comes to grades and I don't want a bad grade in history to affect my chances of getting into vet school.
Thanks for your help :)

Members don't see this ad.

Stick it out. One C won't ruin your chances, assuming you keep up that 3.75 GPA.

Reactions: 2 users
It you decide to retake the course and you do better, I’ve been told that looks better than a withdrawal. It won’t affect your science GPA since it’s a history class but it’ll probably hurt your soul (I’m similar in being bad about my grades being as perfect as I can make them). But if you stick through it and aren’t satisfied, try taking it again with a different professor and it might help you out.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Hi everyone!