Frustrated with Job Search

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DVel

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently got my license to practice in California passing the EPPP and CPSE. I graduated from a great graduate program and was fortunate to place in an APA accredited internship and even a post-doc. However, the job market in Los Angeles seems bare.

Most positions look for LCSWs or MFTs and add on LCPs only as an afterthought. I respect masters level clinicans for their areas of expertise, but I am beginning to get annoyed when I see yet another position posting for clinical assessments, yet they are seeking LCSWs or MFTs. I always thought this was at least was in the realm of PhDs. How did degrees focusing on social work and marriage and family therapy begin diagnosing DSM disorders, and providing testing and treatment for DSM disorders?

Are my job search problems a reflection of the current economic times, or is it an indication that Clinical PhDs are becoming obsolete and a waste of time?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Are you limited to just LA?

I would prefer to be in LA, but I've kept my eye open for positions in San Diego and San Francisco as well. There seems to be a little more in those areas and I might apply if the position appeals to me or if it seems completely hopeless in LA.

Members don't see this ad :)
This is a discouraging post, and I hope it's not a trend for the future. I guess the sad fact is that many clinics, hospitals and the like try to use master's level employees whenever they can in order to save money. It's especially upsetting if these clinicians are being relied upon to conduct assessments. I wonder if psychologists are at least reviewing them and writing the final reports?:confused: