Graduated with low GPA, out of school for 4 years now. What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Paxromanra

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a 2.6 biology major 3 years ago and have been out of school since. After working, now I’m really trying to get into Dental school and not sure what steps I need to do. I’ve applied to some local graduate programs but have been denied. What should I do?

What can I do to put me on a fast track to Dental school? Any advice is welcomed, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
If 2.6 is your science GPA, what’s your overall GPA? If the over all is below a 3.0 then you won’t meet the minimum requirements at most dental schools. I would go to the local community collage or university and start taking science (bio and chem) classes to raise both the science and overall GPA. Also all the requirement classes need to be at least a “C” to be acceptable.

If 2.6 is your science GPA, what’s your overall GPA? If the over all is below a 3.0 then you won’t meet the minimum requirements at most dental schools. I would go to the local community collage or university and start taking science (bio and chem) classes to raise both the science and overall GPA. Also all the requirement classes need to be at least a “C” to be acceptable.
I’m taking some of the harder science classes at my local community college. It’s possible to raise your gpa through this way even though i graduated elsewhere with a Bachs?

If the gpa is low, back to school you go

Reactions: 1 user
I’m taking some of the harder science classes at my local community college. It’s possible to raise your gpa through this way even though i graduated elsewhere with a Bachs?
Yes, when you apply, all of your courses from every institution will be compiled to generate your application GPA.