H1b, immigration and salary for foreign-trained dentists after DDS/DMD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Genden91

Reaction score
I have worked for more than 5 yrs as a general dentist in India and worked extensively in prosthodontics, endodontics, and radiographic reporting of CBCT scans. I have a Masters's in Health Services Administration (MHSA) from the University of Michigan (2018). Since I didn't get a job during my OPT period, I had to return to India where I continued dentistry at my dad's oral surgical practice since COVID hit. My husband has been working in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, and has just gotten his H1B. I will be moving back to the US soon and plan on doing DDS and working as a dentist in the US. I have already had issues with my OPT running out since I did not get a job with my MHSA degree. I would really appreciate it if you can share if immigration has been an issue for you in getting a job as a dentist. Also, I will be getting a license to practice dentistry in Florida since my husband is working in Fort Lauderdale. What kind of salary should I expect after graduating? I am 31 currently and haven't taken the INBDE yet. I am hoping to graduate by 2026
I would also like to ask, Can I do DDS on an H4 visa, or it's essential to be on F1 only? I personally prefer to remain on H4 since I anticipate that I will be getting my H4 EAD after the I 140 approval of my husband's Green card application. It might take 2 years approximately to get my EAD, which will be the time my advance standing DDS program would take to complete. I am keen on the H4 path since that will not require sponsorship from an employer and make it easier to find jobs. Is my planning reasonable or there are other factors that I should know about?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: