How does the AACOMAS application process/timeline work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedicalMermaid

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello again everyone!

I am new to applying for med school and am a bit confused about how the application timeline works and was hoping someone could explain it to me.

I saw that the AACOMAS application for the 2016 cycle opened on May 2015 and then each school has a different deadline. Using NYIT-COM as an example, from my understanding, you must apply through AACOMAS by March 15, 2016, which is NYIT-COM's deadline. The school then reviews your information when they receive it sometime in June/July and give you their decision. If accepted, would you start class in Fall of 2016 or Fall of 2017?

I thought I should try to understand how this process works before I decide to apply for the next cycle.

Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Here's what it might look for you if you're applying for the 2-16-2017 cycle (if accepted you would be starting school August of 2017):

May 5, 2016: AACOMAS opens. This is your primary application which will be sent to all the schools you designate.
June 15, 2016: Schools begin to process primaries. Even if you submit your AACOMAS on May 6th, schools won't really look at your primary app till this time (some even later).

**If schools are interested in you (some pre-screen for secondary applications, some do not), you will receive a secondary application (school specific) after they've processed your primary application. You will have a set amount of time to fill that out (again, the deadlines are school specific...your example for NYIT-COM might suggest that the deadline to submit a secondary next cycle would be March 15, 2017). Submitting the secondary back ASAP is to your advantage.

July-April: Interviews, decisions, etc.

August 2017: Start school!