How likely am I get into at least one of these summer programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shindotp

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a freshman and I finalized a list of summer programs I'm applying to. I'm kind of nervous that I won't get into any of them and therefore will be screwed for this summer. What are the chances I might not get into any of these programs?

1.UCSD Research Experience for Undergrads, 2/13: http://be-webapps.ucsd.edu/nsfreu/
2.UCSD Marine Physical Lab, 2/15: http://www-mpl.ucsd.edu/news/mpl.internships.html
3.Huntington Medical Research Institute summer program, 4/15: http://www.hmri.org/Summer_Student/summer_student.html
4.Emory Summer Undergrad. Research Experience, 2/1: http://www.cse.emory.edu/sciencenet/undergrad/SURE/SURE_application_06.html
5.Duke SROP, 2/8: http://www.duke.edu/web/srop/
6.Rice Summer Research Program, 3/3: http://rgs.rice.edu/AGEP/spd.cfm
7.Wake Forest IRM Summer Scholars Program, 3/1: http://www.wfirm.org/Education/Summer_Scholars.htm
8.NIH SIP 3/1: http://www.training.nih.gov/student/sip/

My first semester hasn't ended yet, but my GPA will be between 3.5 and 3.8 from a top Ivy university. I just hope I get into one of them! But if I get into a California one, that would be fantastic.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Do you have any prior research experience? That always helps when it comes to these summer programs. Also, are you taking the regular freshman year classes?

Many of these programs look more for older students who have had higher level coursework as well as experience in a lab. I participated in 2 programs as an undergraduate, and I came across only one freshman. She wrote an amazing personal statement that went right along with the type of research and purpose of the program, which is why she got in. This was a few years ago, though.