How much student loan you got? how much is too much??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pencilandpen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I hear so many people with 100k plus loans, really curious to see the reasoning behind peoples decision to take out that much loans. How much loan is too much?
I graduated from Rutgers 2 years ago as an in state student and had 45K in loans. Did Not think too much of it at first until after started working and realizing the difference between "making" and actually taking home.

I met fellow grads from this other for profit school of pharmacy in my state with 150k plus in loans and I just feel so bad for them having student loans eat up all their take home pay for the next 10 years

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I went to private school. Took out $180,000. It ballooned to $220,000 after graduation. Currently at $135,000. I'm paying $4,400 monthly towards by loan. Will finish paying off by summer 2020.

Reactions: 4 users
I went to private school. Took out $180,000. It ballooned to $220,000 after graduation. Currently at $135,000. I'm paying $4,400 monthly towards by loan. Will finish paying off by summer 2020.

Holy shat u know 4400 is pretty much my entire take home pay after deductions and 401k

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
just graduated, 190k in debt. it sucks and i would never do it again. but, it's not that bad. when you're taking home $5-6k a month you can easily afford to put $2-3k per month into loans and still have enough left over to have fun and buy stupid stuff. paying off loans in 10 years is reasonable

I graduated from Rutgers 2 years ago as an in state student and had 45K in loans.